Toss & Catch: The Simple Practice to Develop Creative Confidence

You already have the confidence you need. You just need to find it and tap into it.

Jeremy Enns
6 min readJan 29, 2022
Photo by Peggy Anke on Unsplash

Within minutes of leaving my front door for a walk, it’s almost inevitable that I’ll have stooped down to pick up something off the ground.

Most often it’s a small, interesting (at least to me) stone or pebble-when I’m walking along the coast my pockets will end up literally overflowing with such stones-but any vaguely spherical object will do, including various forms of nuts, seeds, fruits, or other naturally occurring orbs.

While in Texas a couple of months ago, I picked up a collection of acorns that are now apparently accompanying me around the world.

Acorns are wonderful metaphors for the value of patience, persistence and how great things can grow from small beginnings, and I keep them on my desk as a reminder.

This isn’t an article about acorns, however.

See the picking up of the object, in this case, an acorn, is only the starting point. Once I have it in my hand, it’s only a matter of time before I begin tossing it to myself.

Toss. Catch. Toss. Catch.

--

--

Jeremy Enns

Founder of podcast production and content amplification agency Counterweight Creative. Believer in the power of kindness and generosity.