14 Lessons On Business, Creativity & Life From 2020

Jeremy Enns
19 min readDec 21, 2020
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

For so many of us, 2020 has been a year of unexpected challenges and opportunities, sorrows and delights, and a whole lot to process going forward.

I always enjoy the process of journaling and reflecting at the end of each year, but this year, it feels non-negotiable. As though the lessons and experiences of this year need to be written out of my system in order to be fully processed and embodied.

And so with that in mind, here are some of the lessons that most stood out to me from a year full of growth, experimentation, small steps backward and large leaps forward.

1. Ideas Are A Habit

I first heard James Altucher talk about the concept of treating idea generation as a muscle that can be strengthened years ago.

Back then, I tried to emulate his “10 ideas a day” practice but failed miserably. I don’t know that I ever once came up with a full 10 ideas in one day, and certainly, none of them were very good.

The problem, I now realize, is that I was setting my sights too high when it came to what qualified as an idea. I was looking for big, life-changing, business-building ideas, passing by anything that didn’t immediately fit that category.

--

--

Jeremy Enns

Founder of podcast production and content amplification agency Counterweight Creative. Believer in the power of kindness and generosity.